Past Student Events

Past Luncheon and Reception Participants

Spring 2017

  • Kate Gainer, Executive Vice President/CEO of the Iowa Pharmacy Association
  • Des Moines Public Schools Superintendent Tom Ahart
  • Izaah Knox, Urban Dreams assistant executive director
  • Mary Kramer, former Iowa State Senator and former U.S. Ambassador to Barbados and the Eastern Caribbean

Fall 2016

  • Dennis Groenenboom, executive director of Iowa Legal Aid
  • Jeff Kaufmann, chair of the Republican Party of Iowa, AND Andy McGuire, chair of the Iowa Democratic Party
  • Senator Joni Ernst
  • Michael Gartner, former president of NBC News and owner of the Iowa Cubs

Spring 2016

  • Businessman and philanthropist Bill Knapp
  • Mike Draper, creator of RAYGUN
  • Richard Deming, oncologist and founder of Above and Beyond Cancer
  • Iowa Senator Pam Jochum
  • Tom Brokaw, TV journalist

Fall 2015

  • Congressman David Young (R-IA 03)
  • Iowa Secretary of State Paul Pate

Spring 2015

  • Roxanne Conlin, lawyer and former U.S. Attorney for the Southern District of Iowa
  • Senator Charles Grassley
  • Colonel Bob King
  • Amalie Nash,¬†Des Moines Register¬†executive editor and vice president for news and engagement
  • David Oman, Republican strategist
  • Ruth Harkin, businesswoman, former counsel for the USDA, former member of the Iowa Board of Regents, and wife of Sen. Tom Harkin

Past Coffee Talk Participants


  • Tyler Campbell, account executive at LS2group
  • State Representative Zach Nunn, Iowa House District 30
  • Pat Rynard, Iowa Starting Line founder
  • State Senator Amy Sinclair, Iowa Senate District 14

Address: 2800 University Avenue, Des Moines, IA 50311

Phone: (515) 271-3623

Fax Number: (515) 271-3631


Office Hours: Monday to Friday 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.